StartseiteHome Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks and Susanna Mälkki


Srnka / BOULEZ / Poppe

Friday, 5 July 2019 | Herkulessaal der Residenz | 8.00 pm

Introductory talk: 6.45 pm

Susanna Mälkki © Simon Fowler
Susanna Mälkki © Simon Fowler

Miroslav Srnka [*1975]

Speed of Truth [2018/19]
for solo clarinet, chorus and orchestra
Commissioned by Bavarian Radio’s musica viva series, with kind support of the Freunde des Symphonieorchesters des Bayerischen Rundfunks e.V. | World première

Pierre Boulez [1925–2016]

Dialogue de l’ombre double [1985]
for clarinet and live electronics

Enno Poppe [*1969]

FETT [2018]
for orchestra
Commissioned by the Helsinki Philharmonic, the Los Angeles Philharmonic Association, Gustavo Dudamel, Music&Artistic Director, and Bavarian Radio’s musica viva series | German première


Jörg Widmann, clarinet

SWR Experimentalstudio (Experimental Studio of Southwest German Radio)

Chor des Bayerischen Rundfunks (Bavarian Radio Choir)
Peter Dijkstra, rehearsal conductor

Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks (Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra)

Susanna Mälkki, conductor


Tickets online

Combined Ticket

for the musica viva-concerts with works by Enno Poppe on 5 and 6 July 2019:

First concert: Friday, 5 July 2019, 8 pm
Second concert: Saturday, 6 July 2019, 5 pm
Third concert: Saturday, 6 July 2019, 7 pm

Category 1: 48 EURO
Category 2: 38 EURO
Category 3: 28 EURO

You can get this ticket in all ticket agencies. The offer is valid only as long as the supply lasts.

About the programme

As the title implies, Pierre Boulez’s Dialogue de l’ombre double is a fascinating dialogue between the solo clarinet and its electronic counterpart, generated live during the performance. It thrills listeners with fantastic sound-spaces of real and virtual timbres. For the soloist Jörg Widmann it is a central work of the clarinet literature. Creating “a genuine dialogue from a breathing, emotionally charged solo part and a gestural sound-mass” has proved time and again to be an exciting challenge for the Czech composer Miroslav Srnka. True, his new piece is devoid of virtual sounds, but here too a genuine dialogue – or perhaps a “triologue” – unfolds between solo clarinet, orchestra and chorus. Having opened the season as the conductor of the Ensemble Modern Orchestra, Enno Poppe is now travelling once again to Munich to display his credentials as a composer. No fewer than three concerts will shed light on his current creations, presenting him as the composer of a new orchestral piece, a work for synthesizer (Rundfunk) and one of the most extensive works for solo ensemble (Speicher).

The concert on the radio

BR-KLASSIK is broadcasting this concert on the radio at 20:05 on 2 October 2019.

We use cookies to improve the performance of our website and enhance your user experience. By continuing to browse our website, you agree to our use of cookies. Further information can be found in our privacy policy.