StartseiteHome Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks and Peter Rundel


Beat Furrer I

Friday, 8 March 2019 | Herkulessaal der Residenz | 7.00 pm

Introductory talk: 5.45 pm

Beat Furrer (c) David Furrer
Beat Furrer (c) David Furrer

Beat Furrer [*1954]

Concerto [2007]
for piano and orchestra

New work [2018/19]
for orchestra
Commissioned by Bavarian Radio’s musica viva series| World première

Nero su nero [2018]
for orchestra

Enigma Nr. 1–7 [2006–2015]
for mixed a cappella chorus
First complete performance


Nicolas Hodges, piano

Chor des Bayerischen Rundfunks (Bavarian Radio Choir)
Rupert Huber, conductor

Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks (Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra)

Peter Rundel, conductor


Tickets online

via Phone (Mo – Fr 9 am – 5.30 pm): 0800 5900 594 (national) or +49 89 5900 10880 (international).

Personal (Mo – Fr 9 am – 5.30 pm) in the lobby of the BR office building (Arnulfstraße 42).

About the programme

Questioning the sonic material over and over again for its creative potential and accepting nothing as given: that is the approach adopted by the composer Beat Furrer, winner of the prestigious Ernst von Siemens Music Prize in 2018. Furrer has produced an impressive body of music that holds listeners spellbound with its enormous variety and timbral sophistication. Yet his new sonic creations are anything but superficial effects: they aim directly at the existential core of our experience. In the furious Piano Concerto (2007), for example, the orchestral instruments function like an adjunct voice to the piano, taking up and reflecting its sounds and magnifying them spatially in brilliant colours. In his Enigma cycle the chorus becomes a multi-voice oracle that translates the cryptic prophesies of Leonardo da Vinci’s poetry into a dank Cassandra-like dirge. One thing is certain: his newly commissioned piece, premièred by the Bavarian RSO under Peter Rundel, will likewise redefine the way we listen.

We use cookies to improve the performance of our website and enhance your user experience. By continuing to browse our website, you agree to our use of cookies. Further information can be found in our privacy policy.