Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks And Peter Eötvös

Orchestra Concert

Thursday, 7 June 2018 | Herkulessaal | 8.00 pm | 1st performance / World premiere

Introduction: 6.45 pm


Lachenmann (c) Astrid Ackermann
Helmut Lachenmann. Photo: Astrid Ackermann

Helmut Lachenmann [*1935]

Serynade [1997/98]
Music for piano

Marche fatale [2016/2017]
Version for large orchestra | Munich premiere

My Melodies
Music for eight horns and orchestra [2016-2018]
Commissioned by musica viva des Bayerischen Rundfunks | World premiere


Pierre-Laurent Aimard, piano
Eight Solohornists of the BRSO: Eric Terwilliger, Carsten Duffin, Ralf Springmann, Ursula Kepser, Norbert Dausacker, Thomas Ruh, Francois Bastian, Sulamith Seidenberg
Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks
Peter Eötvös, conductor

Tickets online


“It was many years ago”, recalls Winrich Hopp, musica viva’s artistic director, “that I asked Helmut Lachenmann to compose a new work for the Bavarian RSO, and this is in fact the first work he’s ever written for this splendid orchestra. I kept all my ideas and suggestions to myself, knowing that any comission given to Helmut Lachenmann must be carte blanche. That musica viva and the Bavarian RSO now have this work when the orchestra comprises such an extraordinary group of performers is a great gift. The horn soloists are thrilled!”

The composer, who has thus far shied away from public comment, will talk about the piece for the first time as well his music in general in a musica viva Talk on 4 May with Beat Furrer and Michael Krüger.

Our site uses cookies to individually display content and measure reach. We incorporate third-party elements such as Facebook and Youtube. Please see our Privacy Policy for details.