StartseiteHome Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks and Brad Lubman


Friday, 14 December 2018 | Herkulessaal der Residenz | 7.00 pm

Introductory talk: 5.45 pm

Brad Lubman © Astrid Ackermann
Brad Lubman © Astrid Ackermann

Bernd Alois Zimmermann [1918–1970]

Symphony in one movement
for large orchestra [version with organ, 1951]

Concerto for two pianos and orchestra [second version, 1965]


john adams [*1947]

Violin Concerto  [1993]
for violin and orchestra


Ilya Gringolts, violin
GrauSchumacherPiano Duo: Andreas Grau and Götz Schumacher, piano
Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks (Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra)
Brad Lubman, conductor

Concert ends at roughly 9 pm, followed by a late-night concert at 10 pm.


Tickets online

via Phone (Mo – Fr 9 am – 5.30 pm): 0800 5900 594 (national) or +49 89 5900 10880 (international).

Personal (Mo – Fr 9 am – 5.30 pm) in the lobby of the BR office building (Arnulfstraße 42).

About the programme

This year Bernd Alois Zimmermann would have turned 100. All the more reason to look once again at the lesser-known facets of his oeuvre. One is the Symphony in One Movement, performed by the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra under Brad Lubman using the reconstructed original version for organ and orchestra. An exciting creation from the composer’s early period that already contains much of what would later be called his “stylistic pluralism”. With its sensual sound and extraordinary technical demands, Dialogues for two pianos and orchestra (1965) is a tight-knit web of temporal and musical layers. The piano parts, played by the GrauSchumacher Duo, enter into an exciting dialogue with the orchestra.

We use cookies to improve the performance of our website and enhance your user experience. By continuing to browse our website, you agree to our use of cookies. Further information can be found in our privacy policy.