Soloists of the Symphonieorchesters des Bayerischen Rundfunks

Matinee | Gérard Grisey II

Sunday, 18 March 2018 | Studio 1, Funkhaus BR | 11.30 am



Gérard Grisey. Photo: Salvatore Sciarrino

Gérard Grisey [1946–1998]

Vortex Temporum
for piano and five instruments [1994–1996]


Soloists of the Symphonieorchesters des Bayerischen Rundfunks:
Lukas Maria Kuen, piano
Ivanna Ternay, flute
Heinrich Treydte, bass clarinet
Korbinian Altenberger, violin
Klaus-Peter Werani, viola
Uta Zenke, cello

Tickets online

About the Programme

“Vortex Temporum” is one of the last works composed by Gérard Grisey, who died in 1998. It describes circular motion around an invisible axis. Here Grisey worked with time and the speed at which the sounds in his music develop, grow and collapse. At times it seems as if he could master time itself. This compositional technique inspired the choreographer Anna Teresa De Keersmaeker, who carefully analysed the piece with a group of dancers, making it known outside the world of contemporary art music. It is to this extremely challenging and complex work that the soloists of the Bavarian RSO will devote themselves in this second all-Grisey concert. It will be held in Studio 1 of Bavarian Radio’s Broadcasting Building (Funkhaus), which supports the work’s impact perfectly with its limpid acoustics.

Our site uses cookies to individually display content and measure reach. We incorporate third-party elements such as Facebook and Youtube. Please see our Privacy Policy for details.