Recital II: Isabelle Faust

Late Night

Friday, 15 December 2017 | Herkulessaal of the Residency | 10.00 pm


Isabelle Faust (c) Felix Bröde
Isabelle Faust. Photo: Felix Bröde

Johann Sebastian Bach [1685–1750]

Sonatas and Partitas for solo violin II

Sonata no. 2 in A minor for solo violin, BWV 1003
Partita no. 2 in D minor for solo violin, BWV 1004


Isabelle Faust, violin

Tickets online

To the Combination Ticket

The immaculate fair copy of these works for solo violin, composed between 1714 and 1720, suggests that the young Bach felt that they successfully met his exacting standards. Isabelle Faust’s first recital, with Sonatas and Partitas Nos. 1 and 3, will be followed by a second recital on 15 December after the musica viva orchestral concert. It will feature the Sonata No. 2 in A minor and the Partita No. 2 in D minor, with the famous Chaconne. There is good reason for playing the D minor Partita in this second recital: Adámek refers to it, among other works, in his own “Follow me” for violin and orchestra.

The combination of contemporary music and early music has a long history at musica viva. Already in the 1960s Pierre Boulez included music from the High Middle Ages in a dialogue with modern music. This same concept inspired Winrich Hopp to place early Renaissance works, e.g. by Thomas Tallis, Orlando di Lasso or Josquin Desprez, in exciting juxtaposition with the modernist aesthetic of Morton Feldman and other contemporary composers.

Our site uses cookies to individually display content and measure reach. We incorporate third-party elements such as Facebook and Youtube. Please see our Privacy Policy for details.