Recital I: Isabelle Faust

Thursday, 14 December 2017 | Herkulessaal of the Residency | 8.00 pm


Isabelle Faust (c) Felix Bröde
Isabelle Faust. Photo: Felix Bröde

Johann Sebastian Bach [1685–1750]

Sonatas and Partitas for solo violin I

Sonata no. 1 in G minor for solo violin, BWV 1001
Partita no. 1 in B minor for solo violin, BWV 1002
Partita no. 3 in E major for solo violin, BWV 1006
Sonata no. 3 in C major for solo violin, BWV 1005


Isabelle Faust, violin

Tickets online

To the Combination Ticket

about the Programme

Isabelle Faust plays Bach’s solo sonatas and partitas with a clear line and a warm, brilliant tone. She interprets this unique music intuitively and thoughtfully. Although she has a broad repertoire ranging from the Baroque era to many world premières of major contemporary composers, her Bach programme is especially dear to her heart. Its special charm lies in its sharp focus on these inimitable works for a solitary performer and in her rapt attention on Bach’s music, which she will now, at musica viva, share for the first time with her Munich audience. The programme is divided into two recitals framing the musica viva orchestral concert on 15 December, where she will be the featured soloist in the première of a violin concerto by Ondřej Adámek. Sonatas and Partitas Nos. 1 and 3 will be heard on the evening before the orchestral concert, with Sonata No. 2 and Partita No. 2 following the next day in a Late Night recital after the concert. A ticket covering both recitals is available for purchase.

Our site uses cookies to individually display content and measure reach. We incorporate third-party elements such as Facebook and Youtube. Please see our Privacy Policy for details.