Chor des Bayerischen Rundfunks and Rupert Huber

Choir Concert |In memoriam Wilhelm Killmayer I

Thursday, 28 September 2017 | Jesuitenkirche St. Michael | 8.30 pm




Rupert Huber. Photo: Astrid Ackermann

John Cage [1912 – 1992]
Robert Moran [*1937]

Four2 + 2 [1990 / 2017]
for eight groups of voices
World premiere

Four2 + 3 [1990 / 2017]
for eight groups of voices
World premiere

Wolfgang Rihm [*1952]

Missa brevis [2015]
for choir a cappella


in combination with


Wilhelm Killmayer [*1927]

Laudatu I [1967]
Laudatu II [1969]
for mixed choir
on texts by Franz von Assisi

Lauda [1968]
for eight-part mixed double choir
on texts by Jacopone da Todi

Giacinto Scelsi [1905–1988]

In nomine lucis
for organ solo [1974]


Peter Kofler, organ
Chor des Bayerischen Rundfunks
Rupert Huber, conductor

Tickets online

About the Programme

A single note sung by a human voice: this was an important starting point for the music of the Munich composer Wilhelm Killmayer. It was this, and his love for the poetry of Friedrich Hölderlin, that underlay his friendship with Rupert Huber, who will conduct the Musica Viva Choral Concert in his memory on 28 September. Killmayer’s rarely performed “Laudatu I and II” and his “Lauda” for eight-voice mixed double chorus will be heard in alternation with Wolfgang Rihm’s “Missa brevis”, the sounds of one composer blending into those of the other. The evening will open with “Four2 + 2” and “Four2 + 3”, two works by the American composer Robert Moran based on conceptions by John Cage. Moran’s new choral compositions with Cagean techniques will receive their world premières. As in Cage’s “Number Pieces”, here the score makes do with slender musical resources and instructions for improvisation. The concert will come to an end with Giacinto Scelsi’s atmospheric “In nomine lucis” for solo organ. The venue is the late-Renaissance Jesuit church of St Michael’s.

Our site uses cookies to individually display content and measure reach. We incorporate third-party elements such as Facebook and Youtube. Please see our Privacy Policy for details.